Journalism · New Media

The Power of Collaborative Journalism

Is Collaboration the Key to Journalism’s Future?

redeye5This article discusses the power of collaborative journalism, as recently shown in the investigation into the “Panama Papers”.

As new media journalism is flourishing, funding is still a big issue. The upcoming layoffs at The Age sparked another conversation about the traditional media model, and asks questions about how can they produce good quality in-depth stories with so few staff to cover it?  As someone who wants to produce long form, in depth stories, this really brings up questions in my mind of where do I fit into the landscape and how can I fund the stories that I want to tell?

I will be interested to research new media content providers both here in Australia and the US as to how media is produced, how people pay to receive that content and how it is funded.

Leave a comment