Post Industrial Media

Sketch 5

https://vimeo.com/178178405

Sketch 5  – Affordance of Collaboration

For this sketch I wanted to continue investigating the affordance of collaboration by getting mobile phone video footage from others. I texted my friend and asked her to film a 10 second video of anything and send it to me. She was able to send me a video via text, which I then downloaded to my phone and then to my laptop. This got me thinking about the timeline in which you can shoot, edit and publish with a mobile phone. I would like to investigate the potential of not only shooting video with a mobile phone, but look at what apps make it possible to edit and upload to the internet without using any other equipment.

In the editing of this video I was experimenting with basic split screen controls in Premiere Pro. I thought I would have some fun with this and use some video I had shot and combine them together. I was mostly thinking about movement rather than content and wanted to pull all the separate videos together with that.

It was successful as an experiment, but I would not use any more than four videos at once in split screen to keep the entire frame full. I will continue to investigate using footage from others, as this seems the most timely way to collaborate with other using the mobile phone as the central device.

Leave a comment